Curves, Cats, and Creams

Hello, world!

on November 17, 2013

As a curvy girl myself, I am sick of being ignored by fashion designers, especially couture designers. We would love to spend our money on fashionable, sexy, and feminine clothes, yet no one seems to want it! Since the majority of women in this country are at least a size 14, it baffled me that the literally millions of dollars which are up for grabs are unwanted, so I went on a mission to find out why.

The sad fact is that most designers and retailers simply do not want to be associated with the dreaded “F” word: FAT. This September’s Boston Fashion Week featured exactly ONE plus-size fashion show. Ironically, it had the most male attendants, by far, of any of the many fashion shows I attended that week.  This confirms what I already knew; that most men, mine included, love curves!

In this blog, I will be keeping you ladies who are rocking your curves up-to-date on the latest trends and news in our fashion world, including, and most importantly, how to dress your uniquely fabulous figure in a way that makes YOU feel beautiful. I also want to hear what YOU think, so please share your thoughts and comments as we grow our community.

Thank you!


2 responses to “Hello, world!

  1. Glad to see you start your blog, Emma! 🙂

    You’re very right, after dressing first for ourselves, usually the next person we ladies dress to impress is the man we’re interested in, dating, or in a relationship with. I’ve never met a single guy who doesn’t like curves, so the fact that the fashion industry hasn’t fully embraced plus-size is baffling. I do see small changes every so often, but it’s something I think will take some time to evolve.

    At Boston Fashion Week, I did see a handful of plus-size models in runways shows not specific to plus-size clothing. I think that’s the best way to integrate curves into this industry, not separating these models by their size categories, but by giving them the same opportunities as every other model. And that’s something I’ve noticed Boston has been quicker to embrace than New York City.

    I look forward to more posts from you!

    http://www.jennysopencloset.blogspot.com

    • CurvyCrazyCatLady says:

      I love this comment, Jenny, and it reminds me of what one of my Emerson professors said about women writers being in a separate category in bookstores. Why can’t curvy girls just be included in the “regular” fashion industry? After all, the girls who are super skinny aren’t classified as “small size”, right?

      Then again, it could just be that we’re so fabulous that the regular fashion world can’t handle us! Let’s go with that, shall we?

Leave a comment

btchonheels.com

I'd like to buy a vowel.

NickBurkaOnTheMusic

Living Life Through Music