Curves, Cats, and Creams

New Year’s Resolution: Love Thy Body and Thyself!

on January 1, 2014

Image

Isn’t it wonderful how so many women love their bodies? Especially teenagers!

Thanks to women like Robyn Lawley, I pray that one day soon these words will not be said sarcastically. As the first plus size model to be featured on the covers of some of the most famous fashion magazines like Australian Vogue and GQ Australia, Robyn has been an amazingly positive influence for all women, whether or not they have curves.

A recent guest on Ellen, Robyn received a massive round of applause when she said that she truly loves her body even though she’s not skinny. “The more I say I love my body, it actually works. Saying you love your body actually works. It makes a positive rebound effect and then you start loving your body!”

Talk about mind over matter! Hearing her bold words and stumbling onto the above photo has really put the cherry on top of everything I’ve realized about myself this year. Believe it or not, every single one of the women in this picture weighs exactly the same, 154 pounds, yet they all look completely different. How can that be?

I’ve struggled with my own weight since I was 16. At my heaviest, I was almost 400 pounds. Thankfully, I have lost over 100 pounds in the last 7 years and currently weigh about 280, which has improved my health dramatically. To be truly healthy, my doctor said my goal weight should be 180 pounds, which led me to suspect she’d been prescribing herself some mind-altering medications. I mean, 180 pounds is way too fat, right?

Turns out, not for me! At 5′ 10″, I am blessed (no sarcasm here) with broad shoulders, wide hips, size 12 feet, and breasts that could feed an entire army of children, all of which I inherited from my German ancestors in order to survive this brutal New England winter.

This year, I have finally not only accepted but truly embraced the fact that I will never be a dainty waif of a woman. I love being able to open jars for my husband, I love being able to carry heavy boxes, and I can honestly say I LOVE my curves!

I have never before been able to truthfully say that sentence, and my New Year’s Resolution is to inspire at least one other woman to be able to announce it with pride!

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Robyn_Lawley

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=S5aROYGixI0

Leave a Reply

btchonheels.com

I'd like to buy a vowel.

NickBurkaOnTheMusic

Living Life Through Music

Connect-the-Cloths

A stylist, foodie, & writer's blog.

