Curves, Cats, and Creams

Colita Sheldrik Says “No Sense Being Normal When You Can Be Fabulous”!

on February 4, 2014

For blog Colita picture

I recently had the privilege of interviewing Colita Sheldrik, a gorgeously curvy model who was kind enough to give me an inside look at her glamorous world. Read on to learn more about this curvy bombshell!

1. Question: Why did you choose to become a plus size model and what were some of the challenges you faced to achieve your goal?

Answer: When I opened up a fashion magazine, I did not see a true representation of what my body, or other women’s bodies, for that matter, looked like. I think that as women, we come in many sizes and shapes and it made me sad that plus size women were being left out of the Fashion Revolution, especially since we make up the majority of the fashion industry. To me, not showing all sizes gave plus size women around the globe a negative body image. I wanted to become a plus size model to show women of all sizes to be proud of your body, no matter what size it was, and that beauty is indeed as close to you as looking in the mirror and loving yourself.

2. Question: What do you mean by “alternative fashion” when talking about your interests?

Answer: By alternative fashion, I  mean fashion that is a step away from all others; the fashion that stands out in a crowd, for the right reasons. I love to dress a bit differently and I love to mix things up a bit.

3. Question: Who is your favorite designer and why?

Answer: My favorite designer is Qristyl Frazier Designs because each garment is not only stylish but accentuates the curves of your body, and I love the color combinations. All the clothes just make you feel and look sexy!

4. Question: Why do you think so many designers do not want to create plus size clothes?

Answer: I feel that many designers are still stuck in a era in which size 8 was the only size that should be represented in the store, when in reality the larger sizes fly off the shelves much quicker than the smaller sizes.

I also think that they are not thinking in the right direction. It is not just about making a size 8 larger into a size 14; it is about re-conceiving the way we look at the larger sizes. I mean, there are just some things you can and cannot do, design-wise.

5. Question: What would you say to critics who claim that encouraging women to accept their bodies will add to the obesity epidemic?

Answer: I personally think that body acceptance should not just be encouraged for plus size women. Whether you are a size 4 or a size 16, you should be happy with the body you have. If you feel the need to lose weight or gain weight, that is a choice that only you can make.

In my opinion, being healthy is definitely a key point. I am a size 14 and I have a healthy lifestyle in some areas and others I am working on. I do not want to be a size 8; I want to make sure that I am healthy at whatever size, and for me that means I do a daily routine of yoga and meditation.

6. Question: What are your hopes for yourself and the plus size fashion industry over the next 5 years?

Answer: I hope to be healthy and confident and an example to my girls of a positive body image. I hope that many women will be able to relate to me and that they’ll understand that we are beautiful and it is not about the size of our waist that counts; it is about loving who you are and being happy and confident in your own skin.

https://www.facebook.com/LitaLynn?fref=nf_fr

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Colita-Plus-Model-Blog/446651275441797

http://qristylfrazierdesigns.com/

Leave a Reply

btchonheels.com

I'd like to buy a vowel.

NickBurkaOnTheMusic

Living Life Through Music

Connect-the-Cloths

A stylist, foodie, & writer's blog.

